Les performances de Bing Ads

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Le saviez-vous ?

  • Bing Ads est désormais disponible dans pas moins de 35 pays dont 14 en Europe.
  • Trois nouvelles fonctionnalités d’extension d’annonce sont disponibles sur tous les marchés européens pour vous aider à optimiser vos taux de clics.
  • Selon Marin Software, les annonceurs sur Bing Ads en Europe enregistrent un coût par clic inférieur de 32 % en moyenne par rapport à l’année dernière.
  • Les internautes uniques du Yahoo Bing Network dans le monde dépensent 72 % de plus que les internautes Google du monde entier.

Comme les images valent parfois mieux qu’un long discours, nous avons récapitulé des informations relatives à Bing Ads en France dans cette présentation.

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Intéressé ? Essayez le Yahoo Bing network:

April 15th 2014 bing, microsoft, Mobile, PPC, sem, SEO

Die Leistungfähigkeit von Bing Ads

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Wussten Sie schon, dass …

  • Bing Ads heute in mindestens 35 Ländern verfügbar ist; 14 davon befinden sich in Europa.
  • es drei neue Anzeigenerweiterungen für die europäischen Märkte gibt, die zu höheren Klickraten beitragen.
  • nach Angaben von Marin Software Bing Ads-Kunden in Europa von Kosten pro Klick profitieren, die durchschnittlich 32 % unter dem Vorjahreswert liegen.
  • individuelle Nutzer des Yahoo Bing Network weltweit 72 % mehr Geld online ausgeben als Google-Nutzer weltweit.

Da Bilder mitunter mehr sagen als Worte, haben wir die Bing Ads-Fakten für die Deutschland in dieser Übersicht zusammengestellt.

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Interessiert? Testen Sie das Yahoo Bing Network:

April 15th 2014 PPC, sem, SEO

Fast Five in Search – Week 11, 2014

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fast-five

 

I’ve got a bit of a mixed bag for you today. The following is a handful of recent marketing-related posts that caught my eye or that I found interesting. Let’s get straight into it:

Here’s this week’s Fast Five:

1) Twitter is Bringing Promoted Accounts to Search Results by Anthony Ha of TechCrunch. If you’re a Twitter user, you’re probably already familiar with promoted tweets and promoted accounts – Twitter accounts that businesses use to advertise to users. Last week, Twitter announced that as well as seeing promoted tweets from these businesses in your timeline and search results, you may now also see account profiles as a new kind of ad unit. TechCrunch has the low-down on the changes.

2) Skip to the End: 5 Great Ways to Make Your Readers Care by Mike Sowden on ProBlogger. Here Mike tackles the age-old blogging problem of how to keep your audience interested and engaged. There are some clever suggestions in here for ways to hook your readers in to reading your current and future blog posts without resorting to gimmicks or give-aways.

3) 4 Surprising SEM Stats that Every e-Commerce Marketer Should Know by Jordan Elkind on Search Engine Land. With plenty of paid search advertising accounts to keep track of for clients, I like to keep an eye on large brush e-commerce statistics, particularly usage increases. In this post, Jordan shares the latest online shopping trends and e-commerce statistics from the 2013 holiday period.

4) An Introduction to PR Strategy for SEOs by Samuel Scott on the Moz Blog. Following some intense discussions at Moz.com regarding the death of guest blogging, Scott offers this interesting perspective that SEO and inbound marketing are just PR by another name.

and finally…

5) The Mashable Jobs Board by Emily Chow of Mashable. I’m not sure how I missed this, but apparently Mashable has been managing a Jobs Board for some years – a hiring hub for more than 3,000 employers, no less. If you are looking for a social media or marketing job in the digital space, you might want to check it out regularly.

Enjoy!

*Image courtesy of Threadless.

March 10th 2014 blogging, sem, SEO, Social Media, Twitter

(Flappy) Bird is the (Key)word: Lessons from its Virality

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Flappy Bird Examiner

Image from: Flappy Bird / Examiner.com

If you’re an iPhone owner, chances are you’ve heard of a  maddeningly frustrating game called Flappy Bird. If you’re not an iPhone owner, chances are you’ve still heard of it – the simple, yet unnecessarily difficult application flapped to viral success, but took the application world by surprise when creator Dong Nguyen abruptly took the game down. 

As an affectionate friend to many iPhone owners, the flap heard ‘round the world certainly made it onto my radar. So, like any good Compete PRO user, I took it upon myself to see how the game’s popularity affected the interwebs.

Search referral tracking for “flappy bird” put two sites at the top of the list. Kongregate.com and Plonga.com, both web gaming sites, took in most of the “flappy bird” search traffic. But how each site was affected was radically different!

Kongregate is the larger of the two sites, taking in around 4M UVs for the month of January. Plonga took in nearly 70K. What’s interesting is that while Kongregate was losing 9.04% UVs MoM, Plonga flapped its way through a rising trend with a 111.74% MoM increase.

And what search referral keywords brought this traffic in?

“Flappy Bird” and several of its variants, of course.

Daily Search Referrals Plonga 2014

What I found remarkable was the impact the keyword had on the smaller site. If you take a closer look, the website’s name doesn’t register as a top keyword until after six iterations of “flappy bird” and one keyword for an insanely popular pandemic game.  The rest of the top ten search referrals flaps back to the same theme.

Now that we can see how the keyword affects Plonga’s traffic, let’s look back at how it stacks up to Kongregate.

Monthly UVs Kongregate and Plonga

The difference between Kongregate and Plonga is quite considerable — even if currently in a downward trend, Kongregate outperforms Plonga by a large margin. But in the last couple of months, Plonga’s UV increases began to visually register. It still has a long way to go to meet Kongregate’s numbers — but virality is key to expanding.

This is particularly relevant for less-established websites in other industry categories. As such, here are a few actions I want to stress, as they’ll help you compete and get digital marketing right.

Watch

…the news – literally and conceptually. Producing your own content isn’t enough – as your consumers and visitors look for the latest and greatest, you should too. It proves that you’re attentive and in-the-loop for what goes viral. The news doesn’t have to be about politics or natural disasters! As you can see, frustrating smartphone games will do.

Respond

…to the news. Curate or create content that unites your brand purpose and daily life. Or, if your company or industry has nothing to do with the latest news, you still present your brand as conscious and active. There’s nothing worse than inactive social accounts or websites that have been collecting dust bunnies.

Be Heard

…by taking SEO by the reins. SEO is a buzzword for a reason! Bigger sites have the advantage in that their names are established and are keywords in themselves. If your brand is lesser known, make a name for it by proving your relevance in industry circles. The easiest ways to start doing this is by tagging current content and pointedly increasing your brand’s presence in search engines. There are tools aplenty to help you with this; like this awesome list compiled by Search Engine Watch. Then, keep in mind that virality helps reach audiences beyond your industry — I’m not an iPhone owner but still heard all about the frustrating flapping.


To see the Compete PRO data used in this article, check us out at compete.com!

February 27th 2014 Keywords, News, Search, sem, SEO

Dear Dare – Ask Us Your Most Challenging Questions on LinkedIn

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For those who like to think about the future of online advertising we’re launching a new initiative in our Bing Ads LinkedIn group very soon: Dear Dare . Dear Dare is an opportunity to ask your most challenging questions about the future of search, online advertising, competitive strategy, and platform innovation to Bing Ads’ Lead Program Manager.
Write to Dear Dare on LinkedIn
A new year, a new frontier in communication. One that rises above the day-to-day noise to tackle broad…(read more)

February 10th 2014 PPC, Search Engine Optimization, sem

Like to Visit SES London? Sign Up With a £400 Discount Today

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From Tuesday the 11 th of February to Thursday the 13 th of February the Bing Ads social media and community team will – like many others interested in search & social – visit SES London in the Elizabeth II Conference Centre in Westminster, London.

Impressions of SES London 2013
Sessions across the three conference days fall in the categories social media, owned and earned, paid and business intelligence this year. Businesses look at various marketing channels to engage their…(read more)

January 31st 2014 bing, PPC, sem, SEO, Social Media

3 Keys to PPC Management for Lawyers — and Anyone Bidding on Highly Competitive Terms

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3 Keys to PPC Management for Lawyers — and Anyone Bidding on Highly Competitive Terms was originally published on BruceClay.com, home of expert search engine optimization tips.

When it comes to PPC management, law firms have their work cut out for them. Keyword terms associated with attorneys and lawyers are among the most expensive keywords in Google AdWords. Law firms “can easily spend $50,000 to $100,000 per month on PPC,” according to Robert Ramirez, a senior SEO analyst at BCI who specialized in legal marketing for six years.

As part of BCI’s Legal Marketing Series, Ramirez shared his expert insights in:

Keys

Learn the keys to PPC management when bids are high.

Today, the Legal Marketing Series continues — get expert insights from Senior SEM Analyst Michael Shore and discover PPC management strategies for law firms and other businesses with high AdWords competition. (If you’re brand new to PPC management, you can start with A Beginner’s 4-Step Guide: Delicious PPC Tips for Small Businesses.)

PPC Management Key 1: Consider Budget & Projected ROI

The first step in establishing a PPC strategy is establishing a budget – and when it comes to PPC for lawyers, you really have to pay to play. According to Ramirez, to be competitive in major geographic regions for keyword terms like “personal injury” or “criminal defense attorney,” a monthly PPC budget of at least $30,000 is necessary.

Given the highly expensive and competitive nature of PPC campaigns for law firms, it’s important to determine if PPC is right for your law firm. If your law firm wants to invest in PPC, first “consider your business strategy, budget and objectives. Make sure PPC makes sense from business standpoint,” Shore said. “If, for example, you are operating on a daily budget of $1,000 dollars and your average cost per click is $50, you are only going to receive 20 clicks.”

Are those 20 clicks worth the $1,000 daily spend? That depends – even with a limited budget, in some cases, the cost is well-justified. If, for example, your site has a (very healthy) five percent conversion rate and you authorize a daily spend of $1,000 on keywords with an average cost-per-click of $50 … you can expect 1 conversion a day. If that single conversion (in this case, signing on a new client) is worth less than $1,000, the PPC campaign doesn’t make sense. However, if that single conversion is worth far more than $1,000, the PPC spend can make a lot of sense. If the desired conversion for a law firm is signing a new client and the worth of that conversion over the life the client is, say, $50,000, that initial $1,000 PPC spend had an ROI of 4900% (!). 

In addition to conversions, branding and SERP real estate are two other objectives a law firm might have when launching a PPC campaign. “If you’re a new law firm, you want people to see ads for your firm. It’s a way to get your name out seen when potential clients are shopping for attorneys,” Shore said. “Or, if you’re an established law firm already ranking on page one of the SERP and coming up for Google Places, PPC ads can be the final key to owning real estate all over the SERP.”

PPC Management Key 2: Identify the Optimal Keywords

When it comes to selecting keywords for your law firm’s initial PPC campaign, it’s largely a trial-and-error process. Every campaign is different, and it takes time to amass data. Considering the costly nature of PPC for lawyers, many law firms choose to hire a PPC manager because of the experience and knowledge a PPC manager brings to the table.

If your law firm is planning to handle their own PPC strategy, Shore recommends following these guidelines when choosing keyword:

  • Use the Google AdWords Keyword Planner to determine approximate traffic and cost-per-click when determining possible keywords. You can also input your site’s URL and the Keyword Planner will suggest keywords based on that domain.
  • Use third-party tools for competitive insight — SEMRush or Spyfu offer up lists of the keywords your competitors are using.
  • Segment search campaigns according to site architecture/silos.
  • Long-tail keywords are usually less expensive than core terms with one or two words.
  • Remember that the majority of searches have local intent, and accordingly, create long-tail keywords with granular geo-qualifiers.
  • Normally, the lower your budget the less keywords you want to utilize.

PPC Management Key 3: Be Highly Relevant

If you decide PPC does align with your business objectives and budget, Shore identified increasing landing page relevance and creating highly relevant ad copy as the next steps to optimizing a law firm’s PPC management. Landing page relevance means that the page the ads delivers visitors to matches what was described in the ad — if the ad keyword is “personal injury attorney,” the click should lead to a page with content optimized for “personal injury attorney.”

“Generally, the more relevant your site is, the less you are going to pay per click and the more likely you are going to show above your competitors — Google rewards relevance,” said Shore.

When it comes to ad copy, Shore advises following these best practices:

  • Include your keyword in the ad.
  • Include a call-to-action, i.e. Call now!
  • Tie in an incentive, i.e. Call now for a free consultation!
  • Utilize ad extensions, especially call extensions, location extensions and site links.

Wondering if PPC is right for your business or law firm? BCI offers PPC audits and PPC management. BCI is also the proprietary vendor of the PPCToolSet and CPA Optimizer. With the CPA Optimizer, which calibrates bids every half hour, clients have seen reductions in CPA between 40% and 80%. 

January 7th 2014 AdWords, PPC, sem

The Weekly Compete Pulse

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Weekly Pulse

Here’s a round up of our favorite digital marketing stories from the web this week:

Maximizing Marketing Data: Turning Immediacy Into Impact Businesses today are infusing their brand presence into every corner of the media and marketing landscapes. As digital channels continue to multiply, customers have spread across all of them, creating the need to converge social media, microsites, display ads and other assets into one seamless brand perception. Check out this article from Marketing Land to learn how to maximize your marketing data.

Even Small Companies Can Tap Big Data If They Know Where to Look Small and medium-size businesses are often intimidated by the cost and complexity of handling large amounts of digital information. A recent study of 541 such firms in the UK showed that none were beginning to take advantage of big data. See what they are in this revealing study and analysis.

Curating Content Or Creating It: Which Drives More B2B Conversions? Ask B2B marketers what their top priority is and they will likely say “getting more leads.” However, many marketers lose sight of these priorities when they get caught up with the latest tools and trends. It’s particularly easy to get off track when you’re deciding what types of B2B content to produce and share. So what drives more conversions, curating or creating content?

Don’t Dismiss Broad Match: It’s Come A Long Way Search marketers know that bidding for exact search terms — a [red car], for instance — yields a high degree of precision, reaching searchers who are very specific with their query. But what about searchers that mean [red car], but choose to use different terminology? Or who perhaps even misspell what they are looking for? That’s where broad match search comes in.

What was your favorite digital marketing story this week? We’d love for you to share links in the comments!

December 22nd 2013 AdWords, B2B, News, sem

The Internet Marketing Conference Calendar: Presenting SMX, SES, Pubcon & All the Rest

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The Internet Marketing Conference Calendar: Presenting SMX, SES, Pubcon & All the Rest was originally published on BruceClay.com, home of expert search engine optimization tips.

Throughout the year, Internet marketers gather at industry conferences all over the world, from Los Angeles to Paris and everywhere in between. The thousands of SEOs, SEMs, content marketers, SMMs and business owners that flock to these conferences will attest that these conferences are a whirlwind of information, education and networking … not to mention fun. Where else but an Internet marketing conference can you learn from the likes of Matt Cutts, Duane Forrester, Bruce Clay and Matt McGee in a single day?

Which conferences are you attending this year? In an effort to help you plan, Bruce Clay, Inc. presents the Internet Marketing Conference Calendar — it’s your exclusive guide for all the Internet marketing conferences of 2014, including:

2014 Calendar

Get ready for 2014 with the Internet Marketing Conference Calendar, brought to you by Bruce Clay, Inc.

  • ad:tech
  • Affiliate Summit
  • An Event Apart
  • Bend WebCAM
  • BizExpo
  • ClickZ Live (formerly SES)
  • Content Marketing World
  • Conversion Conference
  • Incite Summit
  • INBOUND
  • Inbound Marketing Summit
  • Pubcon
  • ReelSEO Video Marketing Summit
  • SearchLove
  • SEOToolSet Training
  • SMX
  • SXSW Interactive
  • and many more

Internet Marketing Conference Fast Facts

  • March is the busiest conference month, with 21 conferences all told.
  • San Francisco is the epicenter of Internet marketing conferences — more conferences take place there than in any other city.
  • SXSW Interactive is the longest conference, spanning ten days in Austin during March.

The Internet Marketing Conference Calendar showcases SEO, SEM and SMM conferences across the world in one easy-to-access calendar, which you can view below or in a larger format here. You can also view or add the calendar in your personal Google Calendar by clicking the “+Google Calendar” icon in the bottom right.

Add Your Event: Internet Marketing Conference Calendar Submissions

If you know of an event that you think should be included on this calendar, we want to hear about it! The Internet Marketing Conference Calendar is open to any conference associated with Internet marketing, including search engine optimization, search engine marketing, social media marketing, digital marketing, Internet technology, B2B and B2C. Meetups will not be included on this calendar. If you’d like to submit a conference or event for inclusion on the calendar, please email Social-BC@BruceClay.com with the name and dates of the conference, and a link to the conference website.

What Internet marketing conferences are you most looking forward to in 2014? Share with us in the comments.

December 7th 2013 sem, SEO

The Weekly Compete Pulse

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Weekly Pulse

Here’s a round up of our favorite digital marketing stories from the web this week:

10 Google Analytics Advanced Segments That Reveal Search & Social ROI Anyone who has used Google Analytics knows that getting actionable insights from your data isn’t always the easiest task. That is why the more savvy of Google Analytics users know that the real key in getting what you want from your data is in the use of advanced segments. Unfortunately, those new to advanced segments may not know where to start. That is why the people over at Search Engine Watch put together this excellent list of advanced segments to help you get insights into your social data.

How & When You Can Turn SEM From A Checkbox To A Core Business Component As search engine marketing (SEM) becomes an invaluable component of many digital marketing budgets, companies who are engaging in it just to “check it off” on their to do digital marketing portfolio aren’t getting the full value out of it competing companies that are treating it as a core component are. In this post from Search Engine Land, the author describes the difference between the two types of companies and how you can become the latter.

How To Get Interactive Branding Right As experiences like New Coke have shown, branding exercises can easily spiral into unmitigated disasters. Hard enough to take if you’re a globe-striding corporation; but if you’re a small unit just starting out it can be a disaster. However, there is one type of ‘business’ that nearly always seems to excel at branding: non-profits. See how non-profits are succeeding at interactive branding and how you can apply their successful strategies to your business.

The Most Effective Tactics for Acquiring Facebook Fans and Twitter Followers Digital marketers do not believe that the most commonly used tactics for acquiring Facebook fans and Twitter followers are very effective in delivering quality community and audience members, according to a recent report from ExactTarget. See what marketers think are the most common strategies and what they think are the most effective.

What was your favorite digital marketing story this week? We’d love for you to share links in the comments!